You Asked

I don't know how to clear my browser's cache.

Answered By: Julie Holland
Last Updated: Dec 13, 2021     Views: 4

In Chrome

  1. On your computer, open Chrome.
  2. At the top right, click More More.
  3. Click More tools and then Clear browsing data.
  4. At the top, choose a time range. To delete everything, select All time.
  5. Next to "Cookies and other site data" and "Cached images and files," check the boxes.
  6. Click Clear data.

How to clear the Firefox cache

  1. Click the menu button Fx89menuButton and select Settings.
  2. Select the Privacy & Security panel.
  3. In the Cookies and Site Data section, click Clear Data….

Fx60Cookies&SiteData-ClearCache

  1. Remove the check mark in front of Cookies and Site Data.
  2. With Cached Web Content check marked, click the Clear button.
  3. Close the about:preferences page. Any changes you've made will automatically be saved.

Tip: Here's another way to clear the Firefox cache:

  1. Click on the menu button Fx89menuButton to open the menu panel.
  2. Click History and select Clear Recent History….
  3. Next to Time range to clear, choose Everything from the drop-down menu, select Cache in the items list, make sure other items you want to keep are not selected and then click the OK button.

See this article for details.

Automatically clear the cache

You can set Firefox to automatically clear the cache when Firefox closes:

  1. Click the menu button Fx89menuButton and select Settings.
  2. Select the Privacy & Security panel and go to the History section.
  3. In the drop-down menu next to Firefox will, choose Use custom settings for history.
    Fx89CustomHistory
  4. Select the check box for Clear history when Firefox closes.

Fx60Custom-ClearHistoryWhenFirefoxCloses

  1. Beside Clear history when Firefox closes, click the Settings… button. The Settings for Clearing History window will open.
  2. In the Settings for Clearing History window, put a check mark next to Cache.

SettingsForClearingHistoryFX42bd

  1. Click OK to close the Settings for Clearing History window.
  2. Close the about:preferences page. Any changes you've made will automatically be saved.